June

23 06 2010

It is amazing what can happen in 6 months.

It is almost the end of June, which means half of the year is done. Not only have I had a whirlwind of a month, so many things have happened over the first half of the year that make me look forward to what the rest of the year can bring.

This is not to say that I have not endured my fair share of heartache this year, but I believe enough good things happened to help me get through the rough patches. This year, I chose to leave my heart a little more open than it has been. And I got hurt. But the 3 months of excitement, happiness, and hope made it worth it.

In the last 3 days, I returned from my second mainland trip this month, which made it more evident how much I need to move away from home. Hawaii will always be where my roots are, but it is very clear that I have many more adventures ahead of me… away from my comfort zone. I also signed my life away for the second time, closing on my refinance on my condo. Again, I did it all by myself, proving to myself once again that I don’t need anyone to help me make big girl decisions.

I got a tattoo a couple weeks ago. A badass one. It made me wish I never got the first three, but I realize that those also came at different milestones in my life that I shouldn’t forget either. It was the worst physical pain that I’ve ever had to endure in my short life, but it was worth it.

In the next couple months, I will be starting on a new adventure – officially teaching my first college level Sociology courses. I feel a bit overwhelmed, but am gladly accepting the challenge. So many people have faith in me, which is probably why I was offered the position in the first place.

Although I am not sure where life will take me in the next 6 months, I am looking forward to more exciting times ahead… making new friends, exploring new places, and accepting new challenges. It can only get better from here…

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 07 2010
Zach

You have a condo and are already teaching? *sigh* You are way more accomplished than me. Better figure out my life plan. 🙂

22 07 2010
effenprincess

Accomplished? Perhaps right now… but giving it all up (well, not the condo) to move to the mainland is gonna be more like one step forward and two steps back… I should have done this when I was younger.

Leave a Reply

